you don’t know JANE!

On this November’s ballot there is a very important prop, Prop 19: Control and Tax Cannabis. Before Californians cast their votes, it is important to reveal the myths about marijuana. I’ve chosen the top 3 myths that people seem to be the most worried about.

1.  Marijuana is a gateway drug.

This is a common misconception about marijuana. Many supporters of marijuana prohibition will use this argument to reach out to parents and scare kids, but it is simply not true! An example of this is when Holland legalized marijuana in the 70s. Rather then seeing a rise in the use of hard drugs like cocaine and heroine, the Dutch saw a substantial DECREASE in the use of hard drugs. This goes to show that marijuana tends to be a substitute for the much more dangerous drugs like alcohol, cocaine, and heroine.

2. Marijuana is addictive

Marijuana is not highly addictive like hard drugs or tobacco, but it can cause dependence. Someone that is dependent on marijuana is similar to someone dependent on coffee in the morning. While it may be easier to get out of bed with a cup of coffee it is not absolutely necessary.

3. Like other drugs, you can overdose on marijuana

FALSE! There has never been a single case of marijuana overdose. In order for a human to overdose on marijuana you would need to consume nearly 40,000 times the amount of THC needed to intoxicate you. In contrast it only requires 5-10 times that amount of alcohol to intoxicate to be fatal. For example, if it requires 3 beers to intoxicate you, it only requires 15-30 beers to kill you. However, if it takes 3 hits of marijuana to intoxicate you, it would require 120,000 hits to kill you. You can’t consume the THC fast enough for this to be remotely possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to you don’t know JANE!

  1. lexivanni says:

    When you can have the perfect combination of research, passion, and humor – you know you’re off to a good start! After reading your first post, not only am I excited to see where this challenge to change will go, but I can’t wait to get to know you more as a writer. Your words are true, and your passion is more than prevalent. This is a topic not only I feel behind, but one the class will follow with your words of passion. (gross, I used the word passion twice)
    Anyway, thanks for the important issue and looking forward to reading MORE!

  2. erinanneliese says:

    Okay I will admit I know absolutely nothing about this topic! I have been excited to read your blog since we talked about it in class because I am so uneducated about it and I would like to learn more before elections next month. I like the tone of your first post and how you address common misconceptions about this. I like how you showed how many beers it would take to kill someone in comparison to how many hits someone would need to die, very eye opening! I can’t wait to read more!

  3. nikkineumann says:

    This immediately draws attentions to the benefits which is good so people who are uninformed can hear the other side to it. You should take the oppositions arguments and try and find weaknesses in them to make your case stronger!

  4. defor100 says:

    This is a really interesting first post! The myths that you dispelled right off the bat grabbed my attention as I never knew that they weren’t true. Thanks for the great information, I can’t wait to continue reading more! I noticed a similarity between this and Prop 8- when advertisers were using every opportunity that they could to “scare” families into thinking that certain things were true that were in fact false. (One example in particular being that teachers would teach gay marriage in schools if the legislations passed.) Not totally related but I thought that was an interesting connection!

  5. I’ll admit that I don’t think the legalization of marijuana is necessarily a great idea, but I like that you took a stance in your first post to debunk the top arguments. One thing that might make your arguments a little stronger is to add in-text citations – not like MLA or whatever, but just hyperlink the title or proof to your source so it adds a little credibility.

    Very specific and clear what you want to do! Great blog so far 😀

  6. zackfettel says:

    hmm. This is rather interesting. My other question about your logic is “is physical addiction as bad as emotional and psychological dependence?” That is a question that could be raised in debate. Please clarify. Otherwise, seriously this page is awesome.

  7. Robby Furrer says:

    Hey Jen,

    Wow, first off, I really like the layout of your blog. I think the theme you chose is professional, but still has that free/funloving vibe (the picture you chose for your header is cool). I think your first post has a lot of potential points there that are important to throw out. My suggestion would be however is to work on the introduction just a little bit. I like the idea of plunging right into the facts and the Prop 19 mention, but maybe offering your readers a question or something to dwell upon first. (something like, Did you know…. insert statistic or something here) This is just a thought. I think it was a really smart idea though to clear up the rumors about MaryJ. There are a lot of misconceptions about the drug and your last point especially was interesting to find out. I found this one statistic from google. It may or may not be useful cause it uses illicit drug use so it has more than just MaryJ, but I dunno. I hope this helps! Blog away little lady!

    http://www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov/publications/factsht/druguse/

  8. brandibooker says:

    Jen-

    I really enjoyed reading your first post! I feel like this is such a good topic to blog about with voting right around the corner. You addressed three myths that are commonly used to argue against the legalization of marijuana, and you dispelled them quite well. As someone who considers themselves informed on this issue, some of the information was news to me! The picture with the annual American deaths from different substances was such a good addition to the post, it really puts into perspective how many other substances are killing Americans everyday and we still focus on a substance that hasn’t killed anyone. I am curious to see what other issues you are going to address in your blog!

    -Brandi

  9. AGREED. It absolutely shocks me that the Mary-J is not legal. Look how many deaths a year there are with alcohol…and how many different places you can purchase/consume/find/etc booze! Plain and simple, it doesn’t make sense. There are also health issues that marijuana can be useful for, yet there is still such a restriction on it. I’m definitely going to keep up on your blog, I’m interested to see where this goes.

  10. Alyssa says:

    Jen, I love the title of your blog post. In addition, I think addressing misconceptions about marijuana is a great way to start your blog. If you can get your audience past any negative thoughts of the drug, they can look at its potential economic benefits without bias. Also, under point number 1, “Rather then”, should say “Rather than”. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of your posts.

Leave a Reply

